Coordinated Annual Review on Defence (CARD)

Pic for CARD

In the November 2016 Council conclusions on implementing the EUGS in the area of security and defence, Member States invited the HRVP/Head of the EDA to present proposals on the scope, modalities and content of a Coordinated Annual Review on Defence (CARD). Such an annual review will help foster capability development addressing shortfalls, deepen defence cooperation and ensure more optimal use, including coherence, of defence spending plans. Building on the Policy Framework for Systematic and Long-Term Defence Cooperation, the objective of the CARD is “to develop, on a voluntary basis, a more structured way to deliver identified capabilities based on greater transparency, political visibility and commitment from Member States”.

The EDA, in cooperation with the European External Action Service (EEAS), subsequently produced a concept paper detailing the various CARD elements. This paper received advice from the EU Military Committee and was also discussed by Member States’ Defence Policy Directors, Capability Directors, National Armaments Directors as well as in several EU Council working bodies and the EU Military Committee.
On the basis of that work, the Council endorsed on 18 May 2017 the modalities to establish the CARD, starting with a ‘trial run’ involving all Member States as of autumn 2017. This should allow Member States to test, adapt and validate the approach as necessary ahead of the first full CARD implementation in autumn 2019.

EDA acting as CARD secretariat

For the CARD to provide real added value, it is of great importance to ensure the most up-to-date and detailed information possible is collected from Member States on defence plans (including spending plans), as well as the implementation of the EU capability development priorities resulting from the Capability Development Plan (CDP). That crucial role of gathering all relevant information is being played by the EDA who, thogether with the EUMS, acts as the ‘CARD secretariat’.


2017 CARD Trial Run Methodology 

EDA developed a methodology approved by Member States’ Capability Directors in September 2017 which is being applied during the current 2017-2018 CARD trial run. It involves the following elements and procedural steps:

  • Initial Information. EDA’s starting point was an analysis of all CARD relevant information already available in EDA databases or being made available by Member States, including NATO’s Defence Investment Pledge Report for those who are also NATO Allies. The result of this first initial information gathering was shared with Member States bilaterally.
  • Bilateral Dialogues. EDA then entered into bilateral dialogues with each Member State individually, in order to validate, complement and consolidate the initial information gathered in the previous phase, in consistency with NATO’s Defence Planning Process.
  • CARD Analysis. Once the bilateral dialogues were completed, the EDA compiled and analysed Member States’ contributions and produced a ‘CARD Analysis’ that presented aggregate data and identify trends regarding defence spending plans, implementation of priorities resulting from the 2014 CDP and relevant to defence research programmes, as well as opportunities for defence cooperation. This analysis is being discussed with Member States and will form the basis of the final report to be submitted to Ministers in November 2018.
  • CARD Report. The final CARD report, to be drafted by the EDA based on the outcome of the previous steps, will present the main results of the review as well as associated recommendations. Lessons learned drawn from the trial run will be derived with Member States and presented to the Council in the perspective of the first full CARD cycle in 2019.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK