Military Airworthiness Authorities (MAWA) Forum

The MAWA Forum was established in 2008 as it was no longer viable for Member States to carry out their airworthiness activities independently. 

The MAWA Forum consists of representatives from each of the EDA pMS National Military Airworthiness Authorities (NMAAs) and is chaired by the EDA, which also provides the organisational and administrative support. 

The goals of the MAWA Forum are to develop and achieve the following ministerial approved ‘roadmap-objectives’ for adoption into pMS’s regulatory systems:

  • common regulatory framework;
  • common certification processes;
  • common approach to organisational approvals;
  • common certification/design codes;
  • common approach to preservation of airworthiness;
  • arrangements for mutual recognition;
  • formation of a European Military Joint Airworthiness Authorities Organisation (EMJAAO).

In order to achieve these objectives, the MAWA Forum has created links with external bodies and organisations (including EASA, NATO and industry) to ensure a coherent approach to their activities and to avoid unnecessary duplication.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden