EDA in Single European Sky

Jun 12, 2017

Start Date: November 2010
End Date: n/a.
Participating Countries: ALL pMS + third countries
Other partners:  European Commission, SESAR Joint Undertaking, SESAR Deployment Manager, Eurocontrol, North Atlantic Treaty Organization, European Aviation Safety Agency

The European Defence Agency, through various SB Mandates and EU Regulations facilitates the coordination of military views for Single European Sky. It has taken the role of interface with EU Institutions for the military community (without prejudice to national sovereignity).



Related videos


Project goals

The EDA’s current priorities for SES and SESAR are :

  • to improve early awareness of States regarding SES;
  • to support States in minimising adverse impact of SES and SESAR;
  • to identify and propose possible mitigation actions;
  • to support States in obtaining EU co-funding for military projects;
  • to support States in identifying a process that will contribute to better involvement in SES regulations from the outset;
  • to ensure coordination with other entities, including the European Commission, EASA, SESAR JU, SESAR Deployment Manager, INEA and multinational organisations NATO and EUROCONTROL.

Detailed description of the project 


An EDA SES Military Aviation Board (ESMAB) was created according to the Modalities for Single European Sky approved by the EDA Steering Board on 30 September 2015. ESMAB is a response to the need for proactive coordination with States and international organizations in order to avoid any adverse impact on national and collective defence capabilities and to take the opportunity of any possible benefits for the military.

The ESMAB meets at two different levels :

The ESMAB Executive/Policy level, meeting at least once every year to monitor the day-to-day consultation process across all areas of SES; to ensure the necessary national involvement up to the appropriate decision-making level, as and when required; and meet as required, to provide the necessary guidance and to address long term vision and strategic issues.

The ESMAB Management/Expert level, meeting as required, potentially at short notice, to refine and finalise common military positions and elaborate related supporting documentation and deliverables in due time, as well as to conduct day-to-day monitoring of the consultation process across all areas of SES.

SES Experts Communities

In support of the EDA’s role as Military Facilitator, a number of existing expert communities in all areas of interest to the military community in the context of Single European Sky have been created. In addition to representatives from the appropriate international agencies and organisations, the members of these SES Expert Communities are selected by States on the basis of their knowledge and expertise in a given area. These groups of experts cover all SES matters, as for example RPAS Air traffic insertion and Performance-based Navigation.


The military requirements need to be taken into account in the civil rulemaking activities including the European Navigation Strategy, the Performance and the Basic Regulation at the Single European Sky (SES) strategic and management level. At technical level, military involvement in working groups in the context of the new EASA rulemaking procedure must be coordinated amongst military.


Military requirements need to be taken into account by the SESAR Project, from Definition through Research to Deployment.  Military stakeholders are therefore to be appropriately engaged with SESAR Joint Undertaking and SESAR Deployment Manager.


The military requirements need to be integrated into the development of a dual use RPAS ATI roadmap, specifically to facilitate the insertion of certified RPAS in non-segregated European airspace. In addition, military requirements need to be integrated in the ongoing works with regards to the implementation of the U-Space.

Aviation Cyber

EDA supports States on their way to improved cyber security in the aviation domain and reach a level of acceptable risk. Military aviation, and civil aviation alike, is increasingly facing challenges in the cyber domain.

Multiple parallel developments in the civil aviation sector have significant influence on military aviation. This ranges from the SES initiative over to an increased lifecycle speed for civil aviation systems to the fast growing UAS/UCAS market. Additionally, modern weapon systems that make use of and rely on all 5 warfare domains (Sea, Land, Space, Air, Cyber) are already widely in use. Cyber security in these Network Enabled Capabilities (NEC) must be an integral part from design, to deployment, to operations, and until decommission. A comprehensive and systemic approach that considers all elements of a system (people, processes, technology) delivers adequate solutions.

An ambitious Work Programme is being developed in the EDA for 2017 which will incorporate the development of an Aviation Cyber Engagement Plan, identification of gaps and addressing the areas of awareness, education and training.

The Military Aviation Strategy

To promote improved awareness on the need to pursue a coordinated civil-military approach in the context of Single European Sky, the EDA SES Military Aviation Board (ESMAB) has adopted a Military Aviation Strategy, which reflects the shared view on military aviation as an integral part of the air traffic in Europe for the coming decades.

Its development was facilitated by the EDA, in close coordination with Member States. Its implementation will contribute to ensuring that the military are recognised as credible and reliable partners in military aviation in general and SES in particular..


To provide the European institutions with Common Military Positions and Military Views on SES related issues.


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK