EU SatCom Market

Apr 4, 2016

Start Date: 2009
End Date: n/a.
Contributing Members: AT, BE, CY, EE, ES, DE, FI, EL, IT, LT, LU, LV, PL, PT, RO, RS, UK, Athena Mechanism, EUCAP SAHEL Niger, EUCAP SAHEL Mali, EUAM Ukraine, EUCAP Nestor, EUMM Georgia.

Satellite communications (SatCom) are fundamental for Communication, Command and Control in military operations. It enables EU Commanders to stay connected with forces in remote areas, HQs and capitals as well as to make use of innovations, such as Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems in the future. The EU SatCom Market has, since the project started in 2012, provided its members with an efficient option to source commercially available SatCom services. 

Project goals

  • Provide a cost effective commercial SatCom solution for members
  • Reduce costs, ease access, and improve operational efficiency for members.

Detailed description of the project 

In 2009, the EDA launched the European Satellite Communications Procurement Cell project, renamed to EU SatCom Market in 2014, to pool and share commercial satellite communications services. Originally five Member States took part in the project and could draw from a framework contract to use commercial SatCom services.

Through pooling the demand, the project’s aim is to efficiently and cost effectively provide commercially available SatCom and related services to the members, thus improving the operational effect.

The EDA acts as a central purchasing body, managing framework contracts and related orders with a service provider on behalf of the contributing members. The EDA also manages the invoicing and the payments. The EU SatCom Market project constitutes an efficient pay-per-use solution without imposing any binding financial commitments beyond services ordered. It is quick and flexible, and it reduces the administrative burden for members who can rely on EDA framework contracts instead of having to run their own bidding processes.



Latest news

Related publications


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK