CapTech CBRN and Human Factors

Jun 27, 2017
CBRN - web

Type of activity: CapTech
Participating Countries: All
Other partners: n/a

The CapTech CBRN and Human Factors’ (CBRN) main objective is to support the strengthening of European armed forces' capability to safely operate in a CBRN environment while contributing to civilian-led crisis response operations if needed. Taking into account emerging CBRN threats, there is a strong need for specific defence R&T on CBRN as well as for monitoring and investigating developments in the military and security environments. The CBRN&HF CapTech works on these aspects in collaboration with other international institutions (e.g. European Space Agency (ESA)) and organisations (e.g. NATO, EU).

The CapTech facilitates the process of enabling participating Member States to transform capability gaps into applied technology. Its activity covers underlying technologies in the following areas:

  • BRN detection, identification and monitoring (DIM)
  • Personal and collective protection
  • Hazard management including decontamination
  • Advanced CBRN (i.e. dispersion) modelling and response including medical counter measures
  • Test and Evaluation (T&E) protocols for DIM
  • Protection measures e.g. Personal Protective Equipment

The work of the CBRN&HF CapTech is generally of TRL in the ranges of 2 to 6. The activity of the CapTech seeks to support and promote European collaborative research initiatives and development of innovative technologies for the improvement of future CBRN defence capabilities. CBRN represents both an EDA Capability Development Plan (CDP) priority as well as a priority for EDA Research & Technology.


Way of working

The CBRN&HF CapTech meetings are held 3 times per year, with a maximum duration of 2 days. All the information is shared in its Workspace. Prior or right after a CapTech meeting, a workshop or seminar might take place. The workshops are participative and their objectives are to achieve concrete outcomes, such as the preparation of a project or fulfilment of an extraordinary request.

To become a CBRN&HF CapTech member (CapTech Governmental Expert - CGE - or CapTech non-Governmental Expert - CnGE), please follow the instructions included in the R&T General site, and be aware that your request will be forwarded to the relevant CapTech National Coordinator - CNC. The approval of the CNC will be needed to become a CGE or CnGE, and also for your participation in a CapTech event.

In 2012, within the CBRN protection part of the CapTech CBRN and Human Factors, the Joint Investment Programme on CBRN protection was developed. The Capability needs were translated into R&T goals for the JIP CBRN, prioritised and calls for proposals were conducted resulting in 14 selected projects. As the selected 14 projects are to be finalized, there is a need to review the CBRN portfolio of the CapTech and design a Strategic Research Agenda for this field also taking into account the new developments on both the threat and technology side. This effort is currently underway, with a projected end in early 2018. The resulting SRA will identify existing and foreseen future technology gaps and define priority technology areas to further develop joint activities. These will translate into a vision and strategy to address the identified gaps and priorities.  

Based on the SRA, any CapTech member can propose ideas for new activities (projects, workshops, seminars, etc.) at any meeting. The active involvement of non-governmental members in proposing solutions for governmental needs, with a consistent and systematic ground for dialogue can definitely encourage cooperation.


CBRN&HF CapTech Portfolio: The CapTech CBRN protection is currently discussing five new Cat B projects in addition to supporting the Joint Investment Programme on CBRN Protection on the remaining 8 projects.

In the Human Factors domain, three projects are on-going. 


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK