Consultation Forum for Sustainable Energy in the Defence and Security Sector Phase III (CF SEDSS III) – Berlin, Germany (27/28 October 2020)

  • Date of the Event: 27 October 2020 09:00 AM
  • Event Ends: 28 October 2020 05:30 PM


The EDA is now inviting Member States to register for the first conference of the CF SEDSS III taking place in Berlin, Germany, on 27 and 28 2020.

The conference will be held under the auspices of the German Presidency of the Council of the EU and hosted by the Federal Ministry of Defence (DE MoD) of Germany. During the conference, the participants will be invited to discuss the work plan of the third phase and to determine the allocation of responsibilities, work and priorities to implement the defined goals of the project effectively.


Location & Accommodation

The Conference will take place in Berlin, Germany. Delegates will be provided with accommodation at the conference facility which will be booked by the EDA admin support staff. Logistics and reimbursement guidance are available here.

Delegates must indicate on the registration form if they will make use of the accommodation provided. Accommodation costs incurred elsewhere will not be reimbursed. Please note that failure to use the accommodation provided once it has been booked and without notifying the CF SEDSS management team will incur a charge to the relevant Member States' Ministry of Defence. All catering arrangements will be provided by the conference facility.



The Conference Programme for the first conference is available here



Participants are requested to register online via this link at the latest by COB 17:00 (CET) on 7 September 2020.

The EDA administrative support staff will confirm the registration of participants.

Due to the uncertainty of COVID-19, participants are requested not to make any travel arrangements (book flights/trains, etc.) until EDA notifies them with a separate email.

CF SEDSS III structure

To address the objectives of the third phase, the Consultation Forum will consist of the following working groups:



If you have any questions please contact the management team directly at or through the contact page on the EDEN website.



The Consultation Forum for Sustainable Energy in the Defence and Security Sector (CF SEDSS) is a European Commission funded initiative managed by the EDA. This Forum was established from scratch with the primary scope to create a defence energy-related community to share information, knowledge and best practices on improving energy management, increasing energy efficiency and buildings performance, utilising renewable energy sources in the defence sector and enhancing the resilience of defence-related critical energy infrastructure. To address these objectives, and with the support of the European Commission, EDA has implemented two phases: the first phase took place from October 2015 to October 2017 and the second one held from October 2017 to August 2019. Building on the successful outcome of these two phases and to address emerging and future challenges in the field of energy, EDA and the European Commission launched on 1st October 2019 the third phase, which will run over a period of four years until 30 September 2023. CF SEDSS phase III is funded by the European Union’s (EU) horizon 2020 research and innovation programme under the grant agreement No. 882171.

While EDA’s remit does not include enforcing action of MoDs, it will work in a way to facilitate and enable the development or adoption of the necessary energy-related measures or plans. The Agency, with the support of the European Commission's Directorate-General for Energy (DG ENER) and Executive Agency for SMEs (EASME) will provide technical advice and guidance to EU Ministries of Defence MoDs and other defence energy-related stakeholders to reach sustainable energy objectives.




Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden