Cooperation Planning & Support

The Cooperation Planning & Support directorate is instrumental in assisting each step of defence cooperation. The directorate, under the lead of Roland Van Reybroeck, focuses on the early identification of requirements at European level as well as the through-life aspect of capabilities including harmonisation of  standards and certification, joint procurement and training. The directorate also deals with the military dimension of the Single European Sky.

It is responsible for capability planning through the Capability Development Plan and the Cooperative Programme Database. The directorate is also responsible for key enablers to support defence cooperation and enhance interoperability: standardisation and certification including military airworthiness as well as ammunition qualification.

The Agency’s multinational training exercises such as the Helicopter Exercise Programme, the European Air Transport TrainingEuropean Air Refuelling Training and different trainings in the field of Counter IED have concrete operational value for European armed forces. The directorate also coordinates armament cooperation and joint procurement courses. The defence test and evaluation baseammunition safety, as well as education and training.

The directorate supports the Member States in identifying operational and financial consequences as well as opportunities that SESAR, the Single European Sky ATM Research programme, may bring to European air forces. It ensures continuous coordination with the SESAR Joint Undertaking and other involved bodies. It facilitates Member States’ military forces related activities in SESAR deployment.

In addition, the directorate provides support to CSDP military and civilian operations and missions and EU Battlegroups, at the request of their Member States. Building on previous experience from the Contractor Support to Operations platform, the EU Satcom Market and the Effective Procurement Methods, EDA is offering its support at all stages for joint procurement. 



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK