Who we are

The European Defence Agency (EDA) is an intergovernmental agency of the Council of the European Union.
The Agency falls under the authority of the Council of the EU, to which it reports and from which it receives guidelines.
Appointed in December 2019, Josep Borrell is the Head of the European Defence Agency.
Jiří Šedivý
Jiří Šedivý was appointed Chief Executive on March 2020.
The European Defence Agency has a unique structure that brings together each aspect of the defence process.
EDA recognises the challenges to defence budgets across Europe, and places emphasis on delivering value for money for EU taxpayers.
The Agency works closely together with a number of EU institutions, international organisations and third States.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden