The European Ombudsman


 The European Ombudsman investigates complaints concerning maladministration in the institutions, bodies, offices and agencies of the European Union. This includes problems of delays, discrimination, unfair treatment, procedural errors and lack of transparency.

Complaints must be submitted within two years of the event or action being complained of, and complainants must first contact the EU institution concerned to try and resolve the matter. The Ombudsman's online complaint form is available here


Quick links


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden