ESIF Success Stories in Defence

The European Defence Agency (EDA) has been working successfully to facilitate access to European Structural and Investment Funds (ESIF) funding for defence-related R&T projects  by providing pilot applications and tailored-made technical support.

A number of such projects – often led by Small-and-Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs) - have been granted access to the European Regional Development Fund (ERDF), the main among the ESIF funds, with a 66% average co-funding rate.

Within the EDA’s Capability Development Plan (CDP), below mentioned projects contribute to several prioritised technology domains (Energy; Robotics; Naval; Components and Modules; Radio-frequency sensors; Aerial and UAV; Advanced Materials and Structures; Communication/Information Systems; Cyber; Radars; Space).

They address also priorities of the 2016 EU Global Strategy and contribute to cross-cutting strategies underlying capability development as pointed out by the Implementation Plan on Security and Defence.

Additionally, they fall within the areas identified in the common set of proposals for the implementation of the Joint EU-NATO Declaration endorsed by the European Council in 2016.

ESIF awards Aerospace Cluster with € 9.2 Mn
Member State
Project leader
€ 9.2 Million

ESIF funding

Technology domains 
Space, Energy 

space_dr_blue  energy-dr-blue  

Defence EOD R&T project receives Structural Funds
Member State
Project leader
€ 4.86 Million

ESIF funding

Technology domains 
Materials & Structures 


For more information on the application procedure to the European Structural and Investment Funds (ESIF), see the EDA’s “ESIF web-platform”.

If you are interested in accessing other European funding opportunities, go to EDA’s European Funding Gateway.





Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden