Capability Programmes

At the European Council in December 2013, Heads of States and Government endorsed four major capability programmes proposed and prepared by the European Defence Agency. The launch of these four programmes and their associated roadmaps aim at addressing critical shortfalls and at supporting the European defence industry: Air-to-Air Refuelling (AAR), Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems (RPAS), Governmental Satellite Communication and Cyber Defence.

The four capability programmes and high-level goals are:

The European Council also endorsed EDA proposed measures to back defence industry in Europe, including SMEs, by supporting research and innovation in Europe through prioritisation (list of European critical defence technologies), investment in critical technologies and greater synergies with EU instruments.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden