Non-lethal capabilities

Jun 30, 2016

Start Date:10/2007
End Date:  n.a. 11/2015
Participating Countries: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Sweden 
Other partners: EEAS/EUMS

Lessons identified and learned in EU-led CSDP missions/ operations identified the requirement for a range of NLCs with a view to minimizing the risk of fatalities, reducing the risks of collateral damage and providing military forces options to tailor a graduated response in accordance to the degree of threats (thus breaking the cycle of violence) whilst at the same time protecting own forces.

In the new joint operational environment, due to the increased likelihood of adversaries positioning equipment or forces in urbanised areas close to civilian populations or critical infrastructure, the execution of specific tasks in EU-led CSDP missions/operations (i.e.: crowd/riots control, deny area to personnel/vehicles,  disable or neutralise equipment or infrastructure) may require the use/employment of non-lethal methods.

Project goals

    • Facilitating NLCs introduction to pMS own military forces, in order to be also used in EU-led CSDP missions/operations;
    • Identifying non-lethal innovative solutions able to counter specific emerging traditional and asymmetrical threats that the MS forces can face in the EU-led CSDP operations/missions;
    • Promoting common Research & Development in the area of non-lethal technologies;
    • Getting synergy of efforts and maximizing the usage of available national resources in the development and employment of NLCs, included through multinational cooperation (i.e. common projects);
    • Encouraging the European defence industry to become more innovative and competitive in developing and validating new NLCs  

Detailed description of the project 

The issues of interoperability and capability development (concept, doctrine, training, operation and support) over the full spectrum of NLC  are addressed within the Project Team (PT) NLC.

 The PT-NLC was initiated by EDA participating Member States (pMS) in 2007, with the kick-off meeting on 21 Feb 2008. It is chaired by Austria and is an active forum where pMS and other interested stakeholders (i.e. EEAS/EUMS) exchange information on NLC national intiatives/activities, identify possible areas of cooperation, initiate common projects, discuss interoperability issues,  elaborate common military requirements as a sound basis for the further development of appropriate non-lethal technologies/capabilities and facilitate the engagement/participation of European defence industry in this regard.

The PT-NLC provides the pMS with a comprehensive picture of existing and future non-lethal capabilities/ technologies to use on an land/maritime operational environment (i.e. kinetic ammunition/ blunt impact devices, flashbangs – tasers, optical and acoustic systems/NLOAs, water pulse canon, vehicle/boat stopping systems, high power microwave/HPM systems, Riot/Crowd Control and personnel incapacitate Agents- tear gas, pepper spray, etc). 

Latest news

Related publications


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK