Latest Press Releases

Military perspectives on SESAR

Madrid - 22 February, 2016

With more than 11,000 aircraft currently stationed in Europe, the military are Europe’s biggest airline. Europe’s armed forces operate more than 150,000 flights per year. The Single European Sky initiative and its technological pillar, the Single European Sky Air Traffic Management Research (SESAR) programme, thus have considerable implications for the military. The European Defence Agency (EDA) will outline the military perspectives on SESAR at a seminar at the World ATM Congress in Madrid on 8 March.

EDA supports its Member States in the identification of the military operational and financial risks expected with the implementation of SESAR. The Agency facilitates also the coordination of military views by gathering input and requirements from Ministries of Defence.

At the World ATM Congress in Madrid, the European Defence Agency organises for the first time a seminar to outline military perspectives on SESAR. High-level speakers from the Agency, the Spanish Air Force, SESAR Joint Undertaking, SESAR Deployment Manager, EUROCONTROL and NATO will discuss challenges and opportunities stemming from SESAR for the armed forces. The seminar will take place on 8 March, 14:30 – 16:00, in the Delegate Theatre. To attend the seminar, you need to register for the World ATM Congress (free, see link below). More details on the agenda and speakers are available here.

In addition to the EDA led seminar, Agency staff will also provide contributions to the following seminars taking place during the World ATM Congress:

  • The European ATM Standards Coordination Group (EASCG), Tuesday, 8 March, 10:30-13:30 
  • SESAR JU seminar on the ATM Master Plan 2015, Wednesday, 9 March, 15:30-17:30
  • SESAR JU seminar on “SESAR and the military”, Thursday, 10 March, 11:30-12:30


More information:


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden