Latest News

EDA Chief Executive holds talks in Italy

Rome, Italy - 14 November, 2018

Jorge Domecq, the EDA Chief Executive, met today in Rome with the Italian Minister of Defence, Elisabetta Trenta. He also had talks with Defence Capabilities and Policy Director, Major General Gianni Candotti.
The main topics discussed during these meetings included the state of play and way ahead in the implementation of the various EU defence initiatives (PESCO, CARD, EDF) as well as of the revised EU Capability Development Priorities (CDP) approved by Member States last June which are the baseline and key reference for all these initiatives. Italy’s strong involvement in EDA projects and programmes, it’s leading role in PESCO, the implications of the Agency’s Long-Term Review as well as the upcoming Foreign Affairs/Defence Council and EDA Ministerial Steering Board meetings on 19/20 November were also discussed.

“Right now, we are in an important phase of the implementation process of the various EU defence initiatives. After the approval of the revised EU Capability Development Priorities (CDP) in June, we will present our final report on the trial run of the Coordinated Annual Review on Defence (CARD) to Ministers next Tuesday at the EDA Steering Board. Member States are also expected to select the second batch of Permanent Structured Cooperation (PESCO) projects at their FAC/Defence Council meeting on Monday. More than ever, it is important that CARD, PESCO and European Defence Fund (EDF) are implemented in a coherent and coordinated manner, based on agreed EU Capability Development Priorities, and in full transparency and complementarity with NATO. Furthermore, as the implementing agency for the Preparatory Action on Defence Research (PADR), EDA continues to help pave the way for the research dimension of the EDF. The results of the evaluation of the 2018 proposals will be available before end of this year.”, Mr Domecq stated.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK