Latest News

EDA Aviation Cyber Security Seminar to focus on priorities for cooperation

Brussels - 08 June, 2018

On 13 June, the European Defence Agency (EDA) organises an Aviation Cyber Security Seminar, in the wider context of the implementation of the EU-NATO Joint Declaration, that will bring together the civil and military aviation and cyber defence communities, with the intent to develop a common understanding of current and future cyber security challenges for aviation, with a particular focus on military requirements.

The seminar, which will take place at the Eurocontrol premises in Brussels, shall provide a substantial overview of current and future developments in aviation and related cyber security risks, with the intent to promote cross-fertilization between aviation and cyber defence communities.

Moreover, it will offer a forum for EDA participating Member states to engage with expert representatives from relevant civil and military organisations, in view of facilitating the identification and prioritisation of opportunities for intergovernmental cooperation and dual-use approaches to cyber security in military aviation. 

The envisaged outcome of the seminar is the identification and prioritisation of concrete areas requiring urgent engagement, in view of addressing them in a coordinated and collaborative manner.

Speakers include representatives from:

  • the European Air Group (EAG)
  • the SESAR Joint Undertaking (SJU)
  • the SESAR Deployment Manager (SDM)
  • the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA)
  • the European Organisation for Civil Aviation Equipment (EUROCAE)
  • EUROCONTROL, NATO and the NATO-Eurocontrol ATM Security Coordination Group (NEASCOG)
  • the German Armed Forces Cyber Command
  • and the European Defence Agency (EDA).




Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK