Latest News

EDA Personnel Recovery course hosted by Swedish Armed Forces

Brussels - 20 April, 2017

The 10th edition of the Joint Personnel Recovery staff Course (JPRSC), a project initiated and supported by the European Defence Agency (EDA), was organised and hosted by the Swedish Armed Forces SERE School, a close partner of the Agency.

The JPRSC, which is part of the EDA’s Personnel Recovery Controller and Planner Course (PRCPC) Cat B project, was successfully conducted from 27 Marsh to 7 April 17 in Karlsborg, Sweden. It was organised by the Swedish Armed Forces SERE School with the support of the seven Member States contributing to the project. 

All in all, 23 students from  Sweden, Germany, Norway, Poland, Hungary, Czech Republic, Austria and Switzerland benefitted from the knowledge and experience of a cadre of instructors from Sweden, Germany, Hungary and the European Personnel Recovery Centre (EPRC).

The main focus of the course was to train staff officers in supporting their commanders in Personnel Recovery related issues. The course is designed for personnel who man personnel recovery positions in tactical operation centres (TOCs), personnel recovery coordination cells (PRCCs) or joint personnel recovery cells (JPRCs). Most of all, the course ensures that trained personnel is available to support any future Personnel Recovery activities.

Personnel Recovery (PR) is an essential element of modern operational planning as it provides a security net for deployed personnel. Most importantly, it boosts morale of service women and men on mission and acknowledges national as well as European Union responsibilities to affect the recovery and reintegration of isolated personnel deployed in the context of Crisis Management Operations under the Common Security and Defence Policy (CSDP). 

The next EU Joint Personnel Recovery staff Course (JPRSC) will take place in Veszprem, Hungary from 22 May to 2 June and will be organised by the Hungarian Armed Forces.


The EDA PRCPC project was established on 30 May 2013 as an EDA Category B project under the lead of Sweden. As of today, it includes seven contributing EU Member States (cMS): Austria, Belgium, Cyprus, Germany, Hungary, the Netherlands and Sweden. The Course was extended three times and will be finalised on 30 May 2019. 


More Information:




Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK