Latest News

Progress for Military Airworthiness Harmonisation

Brussels - 04 February, 2013

Continuing to build on the excellent progress already made, on 23 January 2013 the Military Airworthiness Authorities (MAWA) Forum approved two more airworthiness documents for publication (EMAR 21 Section A & B (combined) and EMAD R). This brings the total number of airworthiness documents now published on the EDA website to seven.

In November 2008, the EDA Steering Board entrusted the EDA with the establishment of a Military Airworthiness Authorities (MAWA) Forum and approved the associated military airworthiness roadmap for achieving common harmonisation and certification processes. The harmonisation of military airworthiness regulations is a strategic decision for improving European armaments co-operation, enhancing the competitiveness of the European Defence Technological and Industrial Base and improving cohesion between joint military-military and civil-military airworthiness regulations.

Participating Member States all have their own national-specific systems to manage the airworthiness of their military aircraft. However, until the formation of the EDA MAWA Forum, there has been very little coordination between European States. The implementation of the harmonised European Military Airworthiness Requirements (EMARs) into national regulations will address this lack of cohesion.

Jan Plevka, Chairman of the EDA MAWA Forum, said “I am absolutely delighted with the approval of these latest airworthiness documents. A huge amount of effort and commitment is required to harmonise often diverse views and opinions. However, the success that the MAWA Forum has achieved clearly shows the significant cooperation that nations have provided to this activity.”

The goal of the EDA MAWA Forum is to have the full suite of EMARs available by the end of 2015.

More information:
  •  For more information and access to the above mentioned documents, click here.


Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK