Latest News

Bio Sensor Information Demonstrator

Brussels - 04 February, 2013

A consortium led by Sagem, with Hidalgo and the Institut de Recherche Biomédicale des Armées, recently handed over the Bio Sensor Information Demonstrator to the European Defence Agency (EDA) after a twelve-month elaboration and development. 

The aims of this project were to generate operational requirements for soldiers’ health status, to investigate possible sensor solutions and to assess the integration into the soldiers’ C4I systems through a thorough analysis and a validation during a representative demonstration.

The realistic operational requirements for a soldier’s Health Monitoring System (HMS) were identified with the involvement of participating Member States (pMS), European Union Military Staff (EUMS) and EDA experts in March 2012. The Demonstration Phase was performed in September 2012 at Sagem’s Development Centre of Massy in France and included laboratory and operational tests.

This study has allowed identifying the operational requirements for a HMS integrated in a Soldier’s Combat system. The analysis also assessed data and information needed for both medical and command chains in operational situations. With limited improvements and integration efforts, current technologies and systems could be effectively used in training missions in the shorter term.

The pMS will now assess the study results, if applicable compare them with their national results and discuss the way forward in the respective R&T and Capability panels within EDA.

More information:
  • An Executive Summary of the project is available here.
  • For more information on Future Soldier Systems, click here.


Picture copyright: Daniel Linares / Sagem / Safran



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK