Latest News

Interaction Between Defence and Wider EU Policies

Brussels - 19 November, 2012

EDA is tasked to ensure that the requirements of defence are clearly articulated in the development of EU policies and in their implementation. During the EDA Steering Board meeting of 19 November 2012, defence ministers invited EDA to further develop EU policies in the following areas: 
  • On Defence Industry & Market, to allow for a more competitive European defence market and industry. 
  • In terms of Research & Innovation, to focus on civil-military synergies (dual use research). To this end, EDA is for example closely working together with the European Space Agency, is involved in the European Commission’s work regarding Remotely Piloted Aircraft Systems and topics included in the Horizon 2020 (i.e. coordination of future research agendas in Cyber Defence, or civil-military synergies in areas such as sensors, standards, and communication for Unmanned Maritime Systems (UMS)).

  • European Space Policy: to federate defence-related requirements, identifying civil-military synergies in preparation of demonstrators and by providing support to critical space technologies for European non-dependence. 

  • EDA participated in the development of the EU Cyber Security Strategy. Once endorsed, the Strategy will provide the framework of EDA activities on Cyber Defence in areas relevant to defence capabilities. 

  • As the SESAR (Single European ATM Research) programme enters its deployment phase, EDA relays the views of the defence community at an early stage. It works in close coordination with NATO and Eurocontrol and organises information exchange between NATO and the SESAR Joint Undertaking. 

  • EDA supports Member States in the area of the EU Radio Spectrum Policy Programme on issues such as spectrum inventory, sharing opportunities, and to prepare for the World Radio Conference 2015. 

  • EDA will contribute to the development of an EU Maritime Security Strategy

Picture credit: European Space Agency



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK