Latest News

Dirk Ellinger as Chair of EDA Steering Board in Research &Technology Directors Formation

Brussels - 15 April, 2005

Javier Solana, EU High Representative for Common Foreign and Security Policy, in his capacity as Head of the European Defence Agency (EDA), today announced the appointment of Mr. Dirk Ellinger as Chair for meetings of the Steering Board of the European Defence Agency when it meets at the level of Directors of Research & Technology.

Ellinger is Director of R&T of the German Defence Ministry. His appointment will run until at least the middle of 2006.

The Steering Board is the decision-making body of the EDA, composed of Defence Ministers of the 24 EU member states who are participating in the Agency and the European Commission. The High Representative chairs the Steering Board when it meets at ministerial level, but intends to delegate the chair for meetings at sub-ministerial level. These sub-ministerial formations include meetings of National Armaments Directors, National Defence Research Directors, National Defence Planners and Policy Directors.

“The Agency's success is a key part of a credible European external action, and we must generate that success as quickly as possible. The Steering Board is vital to guide and encourage the Agency, and to ensure the continued commitment and support of the participating Member States." Solana said. "I have every confidence that you are the man to ensure that the R&T Directors community engages with the Agency in just this challenging but supportive fashion."

“I am most grateful for the opportunity to take on this challenge,” Ellinger said. “The participating member states have high expectations for the Agency and we look forward to seeing concrete results from its work soon, but the members states have a big responsibility to support the Agency in that work.”

Ellinger will chair the first Steering Board in R&T formation on 22 April.

Background on Mr. Dirk Ellinger

08 May 1945 Born in Künzelsau, Germany
1951 - 1955 Elementary School, Bonn
1955 - 1964 Highschool (Friedrich-Ebert-Gymnasium), Bonn, Graduation (Abitur)
1964 - 1970 University of Bonn, Department of Natural Sciences Studies Physics, Informatics
June 1970 Graduation, Master of Science, Physics (Diplom-Physiker)
January 1971 Enters Civil Service, German Armed Forces
1971 - 1974 Federal Office for Technology & Procurement (BWB, Koblenz), Communication & Electronics Directorate, Subdirectorate for Optics & Optronics, Assistant Head of Section, Aerial Recconnaissance, Optronics
1974 - 1978 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Armaments Division, Directorate for Electronics, Assignments as Assistant Head of Section in the field of Aerial Recconnaissance, Optronics, Semiconductor Physiscs
1978 - 1979 Attends Canadian Defence Research Fellowship Program, Defence Research Establishment Valcartier, Québec, Canada
1979 - 1982 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Armaments Divison, Assistant to Deputy Armaments Director for Technology
1982 - 1986 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Armaments Division, Section for International Cooperation on Electronics, Assistant Head of Section Microelectronics
1986 - 1993 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Planning Staff, assignments as
- Deputy Head of Armaments Section
- Head of Federal Armed Forces Planning Section
- Head of Armaments Section
1993 - 1996 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Armaments Division, Head of Central Controlling, Reports directly to Armaments Director
1996 - 6.1998 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Armaments Division, Directorate for Research & Technology, Deputy Director for Spaceborne / Airborne Recconnaissance.
since 6.1998-2.1999 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Armaments Division, Directorate for Air Systems, Deputy Director for Helicopters, Airborne Missile Systems and R&T
since 2.1999 Federal Ministry of Defence Bonn, Armaments Division, Director Research &Technology



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK