Latest News

A Busy Year Ahead for the European Defence Agency

Brussels - 18 April, 2012

With ever more momentum behind European defence cooperation, 2012 is set to be a busy year for the European Defence Agency. From exercises to trade shows to conferences, the Agency will be working hard to explain the advantages of defence cooperation, and using its expertise to aid Member States in driving forward cooperative initiatives.

The EDA is organising an event dedicated to energy and environment. Scheduled for 19 – 20 June 2012 at the Royal Military Academy in Brussels, Military Green 2012 will showcase high level visions on policy beyond 2020 and its impact on defence and crisis management. Technical experts will further demonstrate what technology can do today to contribute to making a difference as well as provide insights into what we can expect from research in the long term in support of sustainable defence and crisis management.

Meanwhile, the EDA will be at this year’s Eurosatory trade show, also in June, where we’ll be hosting a workshop on Land Systems, exploring the most effective procurement options for Member States to help them ensure they have the maximum capabilities available.

The EDA will also be leading three major aerial exercises this year. Two multinational helicopter exercises will build on the Agency’s past success in rotary-wing training: Hot Blade ’12 in Portugal in July, and Green Blade ’12 in Belgium in September. Before either of those, the EDA will be organizing its first multinational fixed-wing training exercise: EATT, held in Spain this June, will bring together air transport crews from participating Member States across the continent.

These are just some of the EDA’s events, and there will be numerous EDA-organized training courses, workshops and for a throughout the year. The full list of EDA events can be found here.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden
  • UK