Josep Borrell, Head of the Agency

Josep Borrell is the Head of the European Defence Agency, in his role as High Representative of the Union for Foreign Affairs & Security Policy/Vice-President of the European Commission. In office since 1 December 2019, he leads the Agency’s Steering Board.

Josep Borrell leads the European External Action Service (EEAS) and chairs meetings of EU foreign ministers.

Prior to becoming HR/VP and Head of EDA, Josep Borrell served as Spanish Minister for Foreign Affairs, the European Union and Cooperation. Before that, he led the Jean Monnet Chair of European Economic Integration at Complutense University of Madrid (2013-2016) and was President of the European University Institute in Florence (2010-2012).

Mr Borrell has extensive European experience for having been a member of the European Parliament from 2004 until 2009. He served as the President of the European Parliament from 2004-2007. 



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden