Working Together: Expert Teams


The Agency only employs some 170 staff. But through various networks of national experts the Agency currently involves around 4,000 defence specialists. These networks of experts are crucial for EDA’s work as they ensure coherence with national priorities. National experts are organised in Integrated Development Teams (IDTs), Project Teams (PTs) as well as CapTechs in the research & technology domain. Additionally, Adhoc Working Groups comprised of national experts can be formed for any given subject.

Integrated Development Teams (IDTs)

An IDT is an expert group that addresses and develops solutions for military capability needs. It analyses current shortfalls in capability terms, assesses action already in hand and considers which alternatives are feasible before proposing what and where the effort should be placed. The IDTs are co-ordinated by EDA Project Managers, supported by representatives of all Directorates, and are open to all Member States and the European Military Committee/ European Military Staff. IDTs can be further reinforced by associated experts from industry, academia, research communities, etc, in order to crystallise solutions, create opportunities to innovate and make proposals for future projects.

EDA currently calls on six IDTs covering the areas Inform, Command, Engage, Protect, Sustain and Deploy.

Project Teams (PTs)

Project Teams take forward specific development initiatives generated by the work of IDTs, or proposed by Member States, the Steering Board or the European Military Commitee. PTs are led by a Chairperson who can be nominated within the participating Member States and is supported by a Project Officer.


A Capability Technology group (“CapTech”) is a Research & Technology working group dedicated to a particular technology area. The purpose of a CapTech is to generate collaborative R&T projects within a specific technology scope, and to support EDA participating Member States with necessary expertise when required in preparing wider programmes.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden