Fostering Defence Cooperation


One of the Agency’s aim is to foster defence cooperation among European Member States. It is at the service of its members and supports them in commonly agreed priority areas through dedicated cooperative projects. EDA applies a flexible, à la carte, approach, is small in size and works in a cost-efficient way.


EDA works “à la carte”, from a minimum of two to all Member States (all EU Member States except Denmark) plus Norway, Serbia, Switzerland and Ukraine: depending on their strategic priorities, their operational requirements, or their interest in a specific project, Member States decide on the extent to which they participate in the Agency’s work.


EDA is small in size (fewer than 150 staff), but its expertise is widely acknowledged. They Agency staff works in an integrated way within the Agency and has close links to their expert counterparts in Member States and as well as other EU and multinational structures.


EDA has a budget of €31 million (2017). This acts as a powerful lever: projects managed by the Agency generate anything between €100 and 250 million in ad-hoc budgets within EDA and many of them are conducted by OCCAR .



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden