PESCO Secretariat

The European External Action Service (EEAS), including the EU Military Staff (EUMS), and the EDA jointly act as the PESCO Secretariat, offering a single point of contact for participating Member States. Within the secretariat, the main roles of the EEAS/EUMS are to contribute to the HR/VP’s annual assessment of participating Member States’ contributions with regard to operational aspects, and to coordinate the assessment of PESCO projects proposals notably in the areas of availability, interoperability, flexibility and deployability of forces. The EDA, for its part, supports the annual assessment of PESCO Member States’ contributions with regard to capabilities. The Agency also facilitates capability development projects under PESCO, in particular by coordinating the assessment of projects proposals in the area of capability development. EDA also support Member States in ensuring that there is no unnecessary duplication with existing initiatives also in other institutional contexts.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden