PESCO Projects governance


On 25 June 2018, the Council adopted a Decision establishing the common set of governance rules for the PESCO projects. While PESCO membership is only for those Member States who have undertaken the more binding commitments, third States may exceptionally participate at the level of PESCO projects. As a first step, the Council envisages to develop the general conditions under which third states may exceptionally be invited to participate in PESCO projects. The Council will decide whether a third State meets these requirements. Following a positive decision, the project may then be included into an administrative arrangement with the concerned third State, in line with procedures and decision-making autonomy of the Union.



Participating Member States

  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Czech
  • Germany
  • Estonia
  • Ireland
  • Greece
  • Spain
  • France
  • Croatia
  • Italy
  • Cyprus
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Hungary
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Austria
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Romania
  • Slovenia
  • Slovakia
  • Finland
  • Sweden